My Running New Year’s Resolutions

2013Well as the clock countsdown on the final hours of 2012, I like many have sat down and thought about what I want to focus on in 2013.

In my running life I have not so much decided on resolutions as on goals that I want to achieve and I think that this is a great time of year to reflect on what was achieved in the last 12 months and what the new year may hold going forward.

2012 was a great year for me running in terms of overall consistency. I raced two marathons and made improvements between them. It was however also the year I had my most ever injuries ranging from a stress fracture through to ITB. I need to make sure 2013 is less injury prone while still maintaining my consistency in running. Where my consistency did lapse is when pressure at work increased dramatically so I also need to ensure that I develop a strategy to run when life gets crazy!

My goals are short and sweet and can be summarised as such:

  • Focus on 5km races: I’ve never really raced short distances as I always thought it was the marathon or bust. Now that I have a family and can’t commit all year round to the time needed for marathon training I’ve decided I’m going to focus on some shorter races early in the year and use it as speedwork for future endeavours. My goal is to break 20 minutes and I hope that I can do it by the end of March.
  • Run the famous City to Surf fun run: Australia’s largest fun run is based in Sydney and is called the City toSurf. It goes from Sydney’s CBD and rolls out through the suburbs, over Heartbreak Hill and finishes 14 kilometres later on one of the most beautiful locations in the world, Bondi Beach. It attracts 85,000 entrants and is THE event in Australian road running – yet I have never done it. 2013 is the year to change that.
  • I will run the 2013 Melbourne Marathon in October and my goal is to go sub 3:30.

In terms of actual running resolutions as opposed to just goal setting:

Sydney's City to Surf: one of goals for 2013

Sydney’s City to Surf: one of my goals for 2013

  • I will have a better nutrition plan and drink less Coke
  • I will do a Yoga class at least once a week to increase flexibility
  • I will make time to run at least four days a week
  • I will stretch after each run and also on days that I don’t run

And I will also make sure that my blogging becomes more regular, focussed and beneficial for both you as the reader and for me as the author.

So what are your running resolutions for 2013?

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal, Training

Leave a Reply

